Friday, September 27, 2013

Local Unit Wins DoD Maintenance Award

The Department of Defense (DoD) announced today the 2013 winners of the Secretary of Defense Maintenance Awards for depot and field-level units. These awards are presented annually to recognize outstanding achievements in weapon system and military equipment maintenance.

A total of six field-level awards are presented in three categories -- large, medium, and small. The recipients of this year's Secretary of Defense Field-level Maintenance Awards in the large category are the USS John C. Stennis (CVN-74), Naval Base Kitsap, Bremerton, Wash., and the 27th Special Operations Maintenance Group, Cannon Air Force Base, N.M.

Winners in the medium category are the D Company, 3rd Battalion, 82nd Aviation Regiment (Task Force Talon), 82nd Airborne Division, Fort Bragg, N.C., and the USS Emory Land (AS-39), Diego Garcia, British Indian Ocean Territory. Small category winners are the Marine Heavy Helicopter Squadron 361, Marine Corps Air Station Miramar, Calif., and the Naval Sea Systems Command Submarine Performance Monitoring Program, Headquarters, Washington Navy Yard, D.C.

The 2013 Robert T. Mason Depot Maintenance Excellence Award recipient is the Army, UH-60 Black Hawk Recapitalization Program at Corpus Christi Army Depot, Corpus Christi, Texas.

The awards will be presented to the winners at the Secretary of Defense Maintenance Awards Ceremony scheduled for Oct. 30 in the Pentagon Auditorium.

No comments: